HYPNOSIS IN HISTORY

 

Hypnosis is an ancestral practice of which we find the first traces in the tablets of  Sumerians  dated of  -4000 years old. History teaches us that  the Greeks and the Egyptians would also have practiced trance and medicine by dreams.

In France it was in 1718 that Hypnosis made its appearance thanks to the work of  Frantz Anton Mesmer. At the time, it was associated with magnetism. In 1814, the word "hypnotic" was entered in the dictionary of the French academy. Between 1882 and 1892, the neurologist Jean-Martin Charcot, describes it as one of the symptoms of hysteria.

 

In the 20th century, it's Milton Erickson, American psychiatrist and psychologist who played a fundamental role  in the renewal of hypnosis. His innovative approach to psychotherapy is based on  conviction that the patient has within him the resources to respond appropriately to the situations he encounters  : It is therefore a question of using one's skills and personal adaptation possibilities. The hypnologist thus invites the subject's subconscious to get rid of problematic behaviors, to replace them with healthy and beneficial behaviors.

Milton Erickson formalized and embodied hypnosis. The teachings of his practice gave birth to Ericksonian hypnosis.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Milton H. Erickson

 

 

ERICKSONIAN HYPNOSIS

 

Ericksonian hypnosis  is now recognized by healthcare professionals as a solution-oriented brief therapy. She is  differentiates  certain practices, such as psychoanalysis,  whose goal is to understand the origin of a problem. In Ericksonian Hypnosis, the objective is resolutely  turned to the solution and  the achievement of a quantifiable fixed result.

Thus, in a limited number of sessions, it is possible to activate the change in a rapid, deep and lasting way. 

Scientific studies and numerous documented articles recognize  the benefits of hypnosis in supporting smoking cessation, the release of phobias, trauma, emotional management, and addictive behaviors such as bulimia. the  field  of application is vast and the list not exhaustive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gurwann Tran Van Gie in hypnosis session on the set of the film De Beaux souvenirs.

THE DIFFERENCE FROM SHOW HYPNOSIS

 

Ericksonnian hypnosis, as I practice it, is clearly distinguished  from spectacle hypnosis to simple  entertaining vocation. The personal work goal  is therapeutic here, and  replace  the sensational and bizarre objective sought by audiences in cabaret hypnosis shows. The two have in common that they function through to the  subject's will  which makes itself, by its availability, suggestible to hypnosis. This is why the first step before the consultation is to determine an engaging and strong work objective.

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Showman hypnotist at work at the start of the 20th century.

L'HYPNOSE DANS L'HISTOIRE

 

L'hypnose est une pratique ancestrale dont on trouve les premières traces dans les tablettes de sumériens datant de -4000ans. L'histoire nous apprend que les grecs et les egyptiens auraient eux aussi pratiqués la transe et la médecine par les songes.

En France c'est en 1718 que 'Lhypnose fait son apparition grâce aux travaux de Frantz Anton Mesmer. Elle est à l'époque associée au magnétisme. En 1814, le mot "hypnotique"est inscrit au dictionnaire de l'académie française. Entre 1882 et 1892, le neurologue Jean-Martin Charcot, la décrit comme un des symtômes de l'hystérie.

 

Au 20ème siécle, c'est Milton Erickson, psychiatre et psychologue américain qui a joué un rôle fondamental dans le renouvellement de l’hypnose. Son approche innovante en psychothérapie repose sur la conviction que le patient possède en lui les ressources pour répondre de manière appropriée aux situations qu’il rencontre : il s’agit par conséquent d’utiliser ses compétences et ses possibilités d’adaptation personnelles. L'hypnologue invite ainsi l'inconscient du sujet à se défaire des comportements problématiques, pour les remplacer par des comportements sains et bénéfiques.

Milton Erickson a protocolisé et concrétisé l'hypnose. Les enseignements de sa pratique ont donné naissance à l'hypnose ericksonienne.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Milton H. Erickson

 

 

L'HYPNOSE ERICKSONIENNE

 

L'hypnose ericksonienne est aujourd'hui reconnue par les professionnels de santé, comme une thérapie brève orientée vers la solution. Elle se différencie de certaines pratiques, comme par exemple la psychanalyse, dont le but est de comprendre l'origine d'un problème. En Hypnose ericksonienne, l'objectif est résolument tourné vers la solution et l'atteinte d'un résultat fixé quantifiable.

Ainsi, en un nombre limités de séances, il est possible d'activer le changement de façon rapide, profonde et pérenne. 

Les études scientifiques et les nombreux articles documentés reconnaissent les bienfaits de l'hypnose dans l'accompagnement de l'arrêt du tabac, la libération des phobies, des traumatismes, la gestion des émotions, et des comportements addictifs tels que la boulimie. Le champ d'application est vaste et la liste non exhaustive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

Gurwann Tran Van Gie en séance d'hypnose sur le tournage du film De Beaux souvenirs.

 

 

LA DIFFÉRENCE AVEC L'HYPNOSE DE SPECTACLE

 

L'hypnose ericksonnienne, telle que je la pratique, se distingue clairement de l'hypnose de spectacle à simple vocation divertissante. L'objectif de travail personnel est ici thérapeutique, et remplace l'objectif sensationnel et bizarre recherché par le public dans les spectacles d'hypnose de cabaret.Les deux ont en commun de fonctionner grâce à la volonté du sujet qui se rend, par sa disponibilité, suggestible à l'hypnose. C'est pourquoi la premiére étape avant la consultation, est de déterminer un objectif de travail engageant et fort.

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

L

 

 

 

 

 

Un hypnotiseur de spectacle à l'oeuvre au début du 20ème siècle.

© Gurwann Tran Van Gie - 2020